Tuesday 22 May 2018

Location: home | England | London | Orpington & Bromley Sunday League

Orpington & Bromley Sunday League Official League

OBDSFL 2005-06 Season Review

OBDSFL 2005-06 Season Review image
Have your say in the fan zone

If you have an opinion, a question or an idea post your comments to our fan zone.
Gossip from the grass roots!

E-mail this story to a friend
Comment on this news story

02 June 2006 | Anon

Promotion & Relegations Confirmed By Committee

After the events of past nine months have eventually brought the season to an end, finally the divisional winners can be confirmed alongside the automatic promoted and relegated sides from each division after the OBDSFL league committee published their decisions online ahead of the delayed AGM on the 19th June to confirm the divisional status of the OBDSFL sides who will take their place in the league next season once the League Committee have decided upon the divisional set-ups for the upcoming 2006-07 season when all the new entries are unveiled at the AGM.
In the Senior Division, Midfield (Kent), who finished seventh last season, upset Favourites Goldsmiths Utds dominance of the Elite OBDSFL Club Competition after 4 previous title wins in 5 seasons. Midfield lost only 2 league games to win the title by 9 pts from Centresports, whilst at the bottom end of the table, last seasons promoted sides, Valley Valliants and Prince of Wales, unfortunately found the jump to be too substantial and will return back to the Premier Division.
In the Premier Division, FC Poverest completed their meteoric rise in the OBDSFL with only 2 league defeats all season to clinch the title by 7 pts, in addition to their Division 4 title in 00-01, from Eden Pk Rangers, who pipped Chelsfield OB on GD, for the second promotion slot, whilst at the bottom, last years Div 1 Champions, Eltham Town Res, finished bottom of the pile and will return to Div.1 on their own after the two withdrawals at the start of last season of Santos and Total.
In Division 1, Keyworth continued the rise of up and coming clubs as they won their third successive league title, dropping only 4 pts all season and becoming the only side to remain unbeaten throughout their league campaign to win the division by 5 pts from a new side, Catford C.C, with AFC Albatross taking third spot, but there will be no relegated sides as Old Smiths finished rooted to the bottom and have decided to withdraw as they seemed to be the only side who will be relegated due to the withdrawal of Springfield at the start of last season and Old Smiths will be joined by Blackfen Rovers who have also decided to withdraw from the League.
In Division 2, Another new side to the OBDSFL, Medway Lions, losing 3 league games, clinched the title from last years Division 4 champions, Eltham Progress, who are another side who are moving through the Leagues rapidly in the way of FC Poverest and Keyworth, by three points in a Division which ended slightly farcical as games were awarded to sides in the Promotion race and on the final day of the season, Masters beat the new Champions, Medway, 8-2 away from home to clinch the final automatic slot from Otford Colts on GD by 1 solitary goal, which would have potentially led to accusations within the division from certain sides and throughout the league, but Otford became the first side to gain promotion via a discretionary decision in order to replace the withdrawal of Blackfen whilst at the bottom, newcomers EC Utd finished at the bottom and will be relegated, whilst SE20 gained a reprieve.
In Division 3, Coney Hall and Crescent battled away head to head at the top of the table for the third successive season and this time, it was Coney Hall who ended up Champions by two points in the closest title race of the season as both sides only lost 1 individual league game each, whilst Ramsden clinched the third automatic spot, finishing 15 pts behind the top two. At the bottom, Orpington Rovers were relegated for second successive year as the rock-bottom side in their division with 1 league win all-year but British Queen received a further reprieve from the League committee.
In Division 4, Freelands turned around their sixth-placed finish last year to end up Champions by five points from Chequers Reunited and Viking Strollers took the third spot, whilst Lombard Phoenix became the second side to receive a discretionary promotion place. At the bottom, another new side, AFC Lessa joined EC Utd as newcomers finishing rock-bottom, but bottom but one Eden Park A are withdrawing per next season and Euro United were given the third repreive as they finished in the third relegation spot in the only Division which featured a full quota of 12 sides this season to see if they will be the second side to go down into Division 5, as Woodvale Wanderers have departed the league after only one season.
However, in Division 5, the league has made one of their most controversial decisions in recent years after the Flames secured their first ever title in three seasons as a Senior club, winning the title by 4 pts from runners-up, Ex Blues Res, with newcomers Swanley faltering towards the end to finish in the third and final automatic slot. However, due to Ex Blues first team finishing fifth in Div.4, the Reserve side have been denied promotion due to the League Rule 12 B (V) which states if any club whose senior side appears in the next highest division and they do not achieve promotion in the same season, the promotion place will be offered by discretion of the General Meeting to the next highest placed side, which was fourth placed Beckenham Imps and this decision will surely be contested at the Leagues AGM by the Division 5 runners-up, meanwhile at the bottom, both Bromley Rovers and Fairfield were re-elected after Kestons earlier withdrawal from the League in the new year.
In the OBDSFL cup competitions, Keyworth completed a unique treble with a 1-0 victory in both the equivalent of the FA Cup, the Presidents Charity Cup against Holders and Senior side Vista, whilst securing the Senior Divisional Paul Picard Cup against Div 2 Champions Medway Lions 5-3. In the Smales Trophy, Coney Hall continued the underdog theme by defeating D2 Sydenham Sports 4-0 to earn their own league and cup double, whilst in the Junior Divisional Jack Standen Cup, their D3 colleagues, Crescent defeated plucky D5 Swanley Cardinals 3-1aet
Finally, the awards of merit saw a very deserved first-time winner of the Referee of the Year award, David Munday, alongside league newcomers, AFC Lessa Christchurch winning the Jim Harris Sportsmans Cup for Fair Play and Ex Blues secured the Assistant Referees trophy for the second year running.

What is Soccer Weekend?

For football fans and players of all ages. Your team's FREE online fanzine, where you write the stories and you make the headlines.
Support and promote your team!

Orpington & Bromley Sunday League news

Final OBDSFL Amendments for 2006/07


Further 2006-07 Amendments To OBDSFL Since Recent AGM

Confirmation On Clubs Accepted For Entry Into OBDSFL For 2006-07 Season

Confirmation Of Clubs Withdrawn From OBDSFL For 2006-07 Season